Baha’i Administration

Baha’u’llah established an administrative order to tend to the affairs of the Baha’i community.

Under the guidance of the Universal House of Justice, the international governing body of the Baha’i Faith, elected local and national bodies look after the affairs of the Baha’i community at their respective levels.

The national governing body is the National Spiritual Assembly, which is elected annually at a national convention.

At the local level, the affairs of the Baha’i community are administered by the Local Spiritual Assembly, which consists of nine members who are chosen in annual elections. There are approximately 200 Local Spiritual Assemblies in Australia.

All elected Baha’i institutions function as a body and make decisions through consultation. There is no clergy or priesthood in the Baha’i Faith.

You can contact your nearest Local Spiritual Assembly.